Question about argument of perigee

I am pretty new to Orekit and to orbital dynamics in general, but I seem to be running into a misunderstanding with the getPerigeeArgument function of the Keplerian Orbit. As I have been using this function, I noticed that I was getting results ranging from -2pi to 2pi, when I was under the impression that the argument of perigee is traditionally bounded from 0 to 2pi. I looked into the source code and it seems like the true anomaly is being subtracted from what I would have expected to be the argument of perigee, and that is what is being labeled the argument of perigee.

This is probably just a misunderstanding on my part of what I should be expecting, but I was hoping someone might be able to point out what I’m missing. Thanks in advance.

Hi @bdruby, welcome onboard

Your observation is correct, and it is a normal behaviour.

Many angles in space flight dynamics can evolve over time without limitation. True/Mean/Eccentric anomaly is the best example. When computing Keplerian elements from Cartesian elements, the algorithm used in Orekit is to compute the orbital plane (which is orthogonal to to orbital momentum given by the cross product of position and velocity), then to compute the semi major axis using equation of energy which depends on position and velocity modules only, then to compute both the relative position of satellite with respect to apogee/perigee and the eccentricity using basically the angle between position and velocity, thus getting the true anomaly, and finally to deduce argument of perigee by getting the angle between the current position and the node that was computed when orbital plane was computed at the beginning, and subtracting the true anomaly obtained before.