PropagatorsParallelizer

Hi Everyone, I’m starting to get my bearings with Orekit (using python) and am now pushing into more complex scenarios with multiple satellites. I’ve tried using the parallelizer like so:

iniDate = datetime_to_absolutedate(sce.time[0])
finDate = datetime_to_absolutedate(sce.time[1])

propagators = [sce.spacecraft[0].state,
               sce.spacecraft[1].state]

step_handler = MultiSatStepHandler(propagators, iniDate)
master_loop = PropagatorsParallelizer(propagators, step_handler)
master_loop.propagate(iniDate, finDate)

But get a “not implemented” error when calling the MultiSatStepHandler. I’ve also tried calling PropagatorParallelizer without the 2nd argument but that gave me an invalid argument error. Could someone point me in the right direction with an example? Thanks!

Hi @Sydra,

I am a big noob in Python. But I can try to help you.

MultiSatStepHandler is an Orekit Java interface. Therefore, you must implement it. This interface has 2 methods. A default one, init(), that you may not implement and another one that must be implemented handleStep(). That is probably the reason why you have a “not implemented” error. Please note that the implementation of the handleStep() method can be empty. if you don’t want to perform any action at the integration steps (an action can be printing satellites orbits for instance).

To implement the Orekit MultiSatStepHandler class in Python, you will need to implement the Python class PythonMultiSatStepHandler (Python wrapping). Here an example developed by @petrus.hyvonen showing how to implement a Python handler. The example is for a PythonOrekitFixedStepHandler but this is the same method for the PythonMultiSatStepHandler.

Kind regards,
Bryan

1 Like

Hi!

Yes, @Brian is likely on the right path. I haven’t used MutiSatStepHandler (yet but it looks very interesting). In the java test examples (which is a good source of examples) there is for example one java usage like: