Want to learn using OREKIT

I am new to all the Astro Physics and OREKIT. I am CS major, my company uses OREKIT, but there is no real knowledge share as the people who developed left.
I want to learn, where to start?
Thanks
RCM>

Hi @mallinarc

Welcome to the Orekit community! We are always happy to see new Orekit users :slightly_smiling_face:

There are several places to learn about Orekit. The first one is the forum. Indeed, a lot of questions were asked on the forum and the answers can help you to understand Orekit library. If you want to learn more about one specific functionality of Orekit, you can search the related discussions on the forum using the research functionality on the top right of the forum.

After that, I can recommend you to look at the Maven site. It is a very interesting place to learn more about Orekit architecture and functionalities. You will also find information about downloading and installing Orekit.

I also recommend you to look at our tutorials. We have developed a lot of Java tutorials to help Orekit users understanding the main functionalities of the library (i.e., orbit propagation, frame and time transformation, maneuvers, orbit determination, etc.). A Gitlab repository is available to download the Java tutorials. The tutorials can be executed using your favorite IDE, like Eclipse.

A particular attention is paid to the Javadoc. All the Orekit classes and methods have a JavaDoc. We try to write the JavaDoc as clear as possible, with details and use cases to let the users understand the corresponding functionality. So, when using Orekit of the first time, I always recommend to have the API JavaDoc opened somewhere :slightly_smiling_face:
Please note that you can find the JavaDoc for all Orekit versions on the website.

Best regards,
Bryan

Hi Bryan,

Thanks for your reply.