Trying to understand how to extend PropulsionModel

Hi, I am a total newbie to Orekit, and I only tried very simple things, like simulating a very simple orbit maneuver. Something like:

final NumericalPropagator propagator = new NumericalPropagator(integrator);
final PropulsionModel propulsionModel = new BasicConstantThrustPropulsionModel(thrust, isp,
                            Vector3D.PLUS_I,
                            "apogee-engine");
// build maneuver and add it to the propagator as a new force model
propagator.addForceModel(new Maneuver(attitudeOverride, triggers, propulsionModel));
propagator.propagate(...)

which does something. However, I am now trying to extend the propulsion model and the simulation with a more realistic one (having in mind e.g. an electric thrust with a battery model, which it discharges by some amount when turned on at a maneuver). Here I am stuck and were unable to find anything understandable online (even in orekit tutorials). My understanding (or that’s how I imagine it) is that I need to “extend” the propulsionModel with a battery state/capacity (which decreases at each burn) which should then be automatically computed by propagator when calling “propagate()”.

I noticed that in the BasicConstantThrustPropulsionModel some methods take additional input parameters, e.g., getThrustVector(double[] parameters) and I have a feeling that these parameters should be related to some “user-defined models” which impact the propulsion (maybe I am completely wrong). Also, I found the class “AdditionalDerivativesProvider” which says that it is used “to integrate some problem-specific equations along with classical spacecraft equations of motion” and it feels that that should be relevant to my issue as well. Here, I don’t understand how you extend this class with own “equations” such that it would be understood by the propagator.