Trying to figure out If a space object is in the FieldOfView of the ground radar

I am new to Astro Physics and OREKIT. My question may not be put in right words.
How do I find If a space object is in the FieldOfView of the ground radar?
The radar can have BoresightAzimuth more than 180 degrees as it can swivel.
We have MaxLongitudeAzimuth, MinLongitudeAzimuth, MaxLatitudeElevation, MaxLatitudeElevation for defining our custom FieldOfView.
We wanted to test for a given Epoch and satellite position if it is in the FOV of the ground radar.
Thank you.
C

Hi @mallinarc

What you have to do is to add a GroundFieldOfViewDetector to an orbit Propagator using the addEventDetector() method.

To initialize the GroundFieldOfViewDetector you will need first to create a Frame. The Frame is, in this case, the frame attached to the sensor. As a result, it represents your ground station. I would recommend you to use a TopocentricFrame.
The second argument to initialize the GroundFieldOfViewDetector is the FieldOfView. Depending the geometry of your sensor, Orekit proposes different types of field of view. All of them can be found on the org.orekit.geometry.fov package of Orekit.

Now, depending the accuracy you want on the calculation, the Propagator to use can be a KeplerianPropagator, an EcksteinHechlerPropagator, or a NumericalPropagator. In a first place, I would recommend you to use an EcksteinHechlerPropagator because it is an analytical orbit propagator providing a reasonable accuracy for event detection. If you want to test if the satellite is in the FOV of a ground radar of a given epoch, I would recommend you to perform the orbit propagation around the expected date (i.e., few hours before and after).