Theory behind modified Newcomb operators computation

Hi everyone,

It might not be a matter of interest but I am currently doing my master’s degree thesis and I’ve been obtaining some results from the DSSTPropagation tutorial class.
I was analyzing the implementation of the semi-analytical theory in these codes and I was wondering if there’s any reference that supports the method followed to calculate the modified Newcomb coefficients.

I’ve consulted Danielson’s paper of Semianalytic Satellite Theory but I haven’t found anything linked with the polynomial decomposition that’s performed in Orekit’s code. I would really appreciate any suggestion.

Thanks in advance. Best regards,

Laura

I think @lucian explained it in the following paper: On the Computation of the Hansen Coefficients

Thank you so much for your early answer, Luc.

But my doubt is more related with the advantages of storing the Newcomb operators as an array of Polynomial Function (I attach a screenshot of the description of NewcombOperators Class ).

I think the storage is implemented in order to avoid regenerating the operators each time.
It could be seen as an implementation detail, and should give the same result as applying the recurrence relation each time.

Yes, I see that, but I was talking about the definition of P_{kj} polynomial.

As far as I’ve been able to understand, Newcomb operators are the result of multiplying the elements of P_{kj} array by n powers (as many as elements stored in P_{kj}) and gradually adding each one of them. However, I don’t see which are the advantages of substituting the “n” and “s” values at the end of the computation (through the “getValue” method) instead of doing it from the beginning, avoiding to create the P_{kj} polynomial array as a function of s.

Sorry for the inconveniences, I’m aware my English is not really good and maybe I haven’t expressed myself clearly.

Hi Iam,