The difference in sub-satellite position in two propagations

Hi everyone!
I am a very beginner in Orekit.
I’m comparing the sub-satellite location using TLE and two propagation methods. I understand that two different propagation will produce some difference, but the difference I have is too big in my opinion. Especially when comparing two locations at the start date. I think I made mistake somewhere in the Frame selections (TEME, GCRF) but cannot find what exactly I did the wrong way.

The code is here My_TLE_propagation_14July2022_ForDiscussion.py — Яндекс.Диск
The resulted image with the difference in the satellite track is here Figure_1.png — Яндекс.Диск

Thank you very much for your time! Will deeply appreciate any help.

Hi @AlexS

Welcome to the Orekit forum! :slight_smile:

For the computation of the lat/lon, you use two different frames:

subpoint_KAZSAT = [EarthModel.transform(tp, GCRF, tt)  for tt, tp in zip(t,p)]

lat_KAZSAT = np.degrees([gp.getLatitude()  for gp in subpoint_KAZSAT])
lon_KAZSAT = np.degrees([gp.getLongitude() for gp in subpoint_KAZSAT])
subpoint_KAZSAT2 = [EarthModel.transform(tp, TEMEFrame, tt)  for tt, tp in zip(t,p_KAZSAT)]
lat_KAZSAT2 = np.degrees([gp.getLatitude().value  for gp in subpoint_KAZSAT2])
lon_KAZSAT2 = np.degrees([gp.getLongitude().value for gp in subpoint_KAZSAT2])

For the first one, did you try to not convert the orbit in GCRF but using TEME frame instead? Something like:

pv = [TLEpropagator_KAZSAT.getPVCoordinates(tt) for tt in t]
p = [tpv.getPosition() for tpv in pv]

##### 
subpoint_KAZSAT = [EarthModel.transform(tp, TEMEFrame, tt)  for tt, tp in zip(t,p)]

lat_KAZSAT = np.degrees([gp.getLatitude()  for gp in subpoint_KAZSAT])
lon_KAZSAT = np.degrees([gp.getLongitude() for gp in subpoint_KAZSAT])

It should not change your results, but it will reduce the number of frame transformations and then the possibilities of doing something wrong.

Otherwise, I don’t see mistake in you code.