Simulating topocentric right ascension/declination measurements

Hi all,

I’m trying to simulate observations of a satellite from a ground station using the measurement generation package. I’d like to produce topocentric right ascension & declination values, as from a telescope. I tried using an AngularRaDecBuilder, but I don’t understand how to properly specify the frame. I (naively) started with specifying the topocentric frame of the ground station, but the values (perhaps unsurprisingly) do not match my validation case. How can I get topocentric right ascension and declination values here? Thanks in advance.

Sometimes, just the act of writing something down helps clear things up. I looked at the source for AngularRaDec, and I see that it is, in fact, computing topocentric values. Changing the reference frame to the inertial frame I am interested (EME2000, in this case) in gives me the results I was expecting.

Hi, I am pretty new with Orekit and Java. But I would like to do the same thing as you did: adding RA/Dec measurements to my code (which is pretty much a copy of orekit-tutorials-10.2\src\main\java\org\orekit\tutorials\estimation\common\AbstractOrbitDetermination.java). How do I call AngularRaDecBuilder? Do you have a sniplet of your code showing the syntax? Thanks for any advice you could share!

The constructor for AngularRaDecBuilder is documented. I can’t provide my code, but is there something specific you’re having trouble with?

Many thanks for your reply!

My main problem is that I am inexperienced in Java programming. I would like to add RA/Dec measurements from a telescope on Calar Alto (Spain) to the tutorial program AbstractOrbitDetermination. There I have the instance “stations” in the main program, that contains all the information about the GroundStation I want to use. It is defined via a Map:

final Map<String, StationData> stations = createStationsData(inputData, conventions, body);