Setting up Orekit in Anaconda

I am very new to the Orekit community! I am trying to use Orekit with Basemap and Tkinter in Python. I am having a lot of trouble getting the wrapper to function in Spyder.

I used the commands to download Orekit to my virtual environment on the conda-forge channel, and I have the JCC_JDK=C:/Directory path in existence. Now, Python doesn’t have an issue importing the orekit library with the command ‘import orekit’, but as soon as I insert the next line, vm = orekit.initVM(), the following error is output: ‘AttributeError: module ‘orekit’ has no attribute ‘initVM’’. Or when I try to import from orekit.pyhelpers the error is as follows: ‘ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘orekit.pyhelpers’; ‘orekit’ is not a package.’

I am a beginner to programming, too. So I am having issues trouble-shooting this on my own. Please let me know other information you might need to help me resolve this issue. I am looking forward to working with Orekit! My theory is that I do not have the transition from Java to Python properly configured on my computer… I really have no clue though. Thanks for your help!

Hi,

First, check that you are not doing this in a place where you already have a directory called orekit. The python does not find any module somehow. I don’t think this is the activation of the environment, this is likely some installation / directory problem.

Regarding activation, which is likely a second step, if you use the anaconda navigator to launch spyder or ipython it will set the environment prior to launching it.

Thanks for the reply! So now, I have all of the dependent libraries and orekit and the proper versions installed to my environment and no directories with the name orekit. But I get this error:

import orekit

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘orekit’

Any ideas?? I have no idea why Spyder wouldn’t be able to read this if I have all of the libraries and the environment activated in the console.