Question about transforming velocity coordinates

Hello,

I am new to Orekit and I am trying to convert coordinates from the GCRF frame to ITRF. I followed the tutorial for converting the position coordinates, but am encountering issues when it comes to velocity.

I’ve tried two different methods:

target_frame = FramesFactory.getITRF(IERSConventions.IERS_2010, True)
inertialFrame = FramesFactory.getGCRF()

for time, tmp_s in zip(t,s):
    trans = inertialFrame.getTransformTo(target_frame, time)
    pos = StaticTransform.cast_(trans).transformPosition(tmp_s.getPVCoordinates().getPosition())
    x_itrf.append(pos.getX()/1000)
    y_itrf.append(pos.getY()/1000)
    z_itrf.append(pos.getZ()/1000)
    vel = StaticTransform.cast_(trans).transformPosition(tmp_s.getPVCoordinates().getVelocity())
    vx_itrf.append(vel.getX()/1000)
    vy_itrf.append(vel.getY()/1000)
    vz_itrf.append(vel.getZ()/1000)

but from what I can tell from looking through the forum/documentation, using StaticTransform for velocity transformations is incorrect (?)

I have also tried transforming the PVCoordinates and extracting the position and velocity from these:

for time, tmp_s in zip(t,s):
    pv_coords = inertialFrame.getTransformTo(target_frame, time).transformPVCoordinates(tmp_s.getPVCoordinates())

pv_itrf.append(pv_coords)

x_itrf.append(pv_coords.getPosition().getX()/1000)
    y_itrf.append(pv_coords.getPosition().getY()/1000)
    z_itrf.append(pv_coords.getPosition().getZ()/1000)
    vx_itrf.append(pv_coords.getVelocity().getX()/1000)
    vy_itrf.append(pv_coords.getVelocity().getY()/1000)
    vz_itrf.append(pv_coords.getVelocity().getZ()/1000)

but when I compare the position coordinates using this method to the ones I previously generated using StaticTransform.cast_ they differ greatly so I am not sure that my implementation of the transformation is correct, for either position or velocity.

Are either of these methods correct for transforming the velocity coordinates?