Own planetary bodies?

Hello there!

I’m new to Orekit and I am working on a pure Java project for school.
The project is basically an imaginary solar system but with real physics. I’m now wondering if it is possible to make celestial Bodies without ephemerides.

for everyone who is wondering why I am using Orekit in the first place: I need a library with integrated orbital mechanics.

thank you for reading :slight_smile:

Hi @Foirent,

Welcome to the Orekit’s forum!

What do you mean by ephemeris? Are you talking about the planetary ephemerides of the celestial bodies? For example those provided by the JPL (i.e. DE-4XX). Because at some point you will need this data to handle the celestial bodies. For instance, to create one (See example below).

All the needed data are available inside the orekit-data. You can download the orekit-data here.

Here, an example on how to initialize a celestial body using Orekit and orekit-data:

// Configure Orekit
    final File home       = new File(System.getProperty("user.home"));
    final File orekitData = new File(home, "orekit-data");
    final DataProvidersManager manager = DataContext.getDefault().getDataProvidersManager();
    manager.addProvider(new DirectoryCrawler(orekitData));

// Access the celestial body information (reference frame, name, GM)
    final CelestialBody marsData = CelestialBodyFactory.getMars();

// Create the "Physical" body.
    final double MARS_EQUATORIAL_RADIUS = 3394200;
    final double MARS_FLATTENING = 0.00589;
    final OneAxisEllipsoid mars = new OneAxisEllipsoid(MARS_EQUATORIAL_RADIUS,
                                                       MARS_FLATTENING,
                                                       marsData.getBodyOrientedFrame());

That’s the line CelestialBodyFactory.getMars() that needs first the celestial body ephemeris. However, I don’t see any other way to deal without the ephemeris data if you want to use real physics.

Kind regards,
Bryan