Orbit Determination Test from Simulated Data

Hi Orekit,

I am a huge beginner in using Orekit and was looking for some help on understanding and getting orbit determination to work.

So far, I’ve used Orekit to simulate a satellite orbit and used an ElevationDetector to get azimuth and elevation (and range) of the satellite as it passes over a ground station. I am simulating FalconSAT3 using a TLE from N2YO.com. I plugged in the TLE into a “SGP4 Propagator” to generate the az/el points.

Now, I want to do a simple test to plug in those simulated azimuth and elevation points into an orbit determination estimator and see how close I can get to the simulated satellite parameters.

I’ve been following the very helpful guide of GorgiAstro on github(sorry I can’t link because I am new user)

and have made small modifications to make this work with AzEl instead of ranges, but when I run, I am getting an “unable to solve” run time error.
My “initial guess” is the same TLE that I used to simulate the orbit, so I expected the estimator to give me back the same/very close parameters.

I’ve attached a text file with the code snippet of my OD attempt. If it is easier, I can attach the beginning part with the code I used to get the simulated data too.

The variables: azArray, elArray, and timeStamps are arrays with the simulated data in
them that I used.

Some things I think might be wrong/I don’t understand

• To add the AngularAzEl measurement to the estimator, I needed to add a “ObservableSatellite” to the constructor. I gave this a propagator index of 0, but I don’t know what it is doing.
  • Some objects needed a frame in the constructor. I have been using the variable “inertialFrame”, which is just FramesFactory.getEME2000(). Is it possible that I am using this improperly?

Let me know if you need more information!

odCodeSnippet.txt (3.7 KB)

Hi @Mahsoo,

Welcome to the Orekit community !