Modeling LEO Non-Impulsive Orbit Raise

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to Orekit and have been the exploring the wrapper docs and examples to research a task I’d like to accomplish to compare with another analysis toolkit. I am interested in raising an initial LEO Orbit 1 to a higher altitude Orbit 2 (~100km) using a Constant Thrust (Non-Impulsive) Electric burn. I hope to specify parameters for Vehicle Mass and Isp/flow rate values for various e-propulsive candidates to reach the final orbit.

I found a couple of examples (below) of the ImpulseManeuver and ConstantThrustManeuver class but from what I can see, the latter is defined as f(t0, duration, thrust, isp, direction) with duration and direction but not to a specific objective/target Orbit 2 (in my case a higher altitude in same plane). Could someone please illustrate a potential use case to non-impulsively maneuver between two pre-defined orbits perhaps using one of the event detector(s) at the final altitude instead of being constrained by a defined burn duration?

TYIA!

Orekit Python Users,
I attempted this query for a ConstantThrust Maneuver application to a higher altitude target orbit in the below. I’m wondering what I’m doing wrong since I’m not achieving an orbit raise with this setup. Any help would be very appreciated!

1. What is the proper method to apply the altitude detector trigger to stop a maneuver burn
  2. Is it at all possible to omit constraining on Thrust burn duration and/or Delta-V and instead allow the propagation find a solution which reaches the intended final orbit? Could a different propagator type resolve this issue since I tried the same with Keplerian propagator with no success.
# constants
inertial_frame = FramesFactory.getEME2000()
attitude = LofOffset(inertial_frame, LOFType.LVLH)
EARTH_RADIUS = Constants.WGS84_EARTH_EQUATORIAL_RADIUS
G0_STANDARD_GRAVITY = Constants.G0_STANDARD_GRAVITY
MU = Constants.WGS84_EARTH_MU
UTC = TimeScalesFactory.getUTC()
PI = np.pi