Measurement types for estimation

Hi! I am new to Orekit, and looking to use it for an estimation project. Does Orekit support creation of custom measurement types (for example, space based measurements), or will I need to use one of the existing measurement classes? Thank you!

Hello,

You can create your own measurements type, as well as your own measurements modifiers.
The global architecture of the estimation package is explained here.

You have therefore to create a class that implements the ObservedMeasurement interface. The simplest way to do it is to have your class extend the existing AbstractMeasurement abstract class that already handles all the methods from the interface but adds one lower level method that you need to implement in your own class: theoreticalEvaluation(iteration, evaluation, states). This method will be called by the estimation algorithm (the same method is used for both batch least square and Kalman filter) and given the states of the satellites at some time close to measurement time (in fact it is exactly measurement time for the first iteration of batch least squares, but can be a time with precompensated light time delay on subsequent iterations). If your measurement is a single satellite measurement (like Range), the states array will contain only one element corresponding to your satellite. If your measurement is a multi-satellite measurement (like InterSatellitesRange), the states array will contain as many elements that your measurement needs (according to the ObservableSatellite list passed to the parent abstract class at construction). From this (or these) state(s), and from the specific data you will have put in your specific measurement, the theoreticalEvaluation method will create an instance of EstimatedMeasurement fill it with data and return it to caller. The data that will be gathered in the estimated measurement are:

• a reference to the ObservedMeasurement itself (i.e. the this reference)