Getting NaN converting ECI to Geodetic

Hello, please forgive my ignorance, I am new to Orbital Mechanics. While trying to convert the following ECEF position to Geodetic, I am getting NaN as my resulting latitude and am not sure how to proceed.

Here is my input vector:

Vector3D nanVector = new Vector3D(-5585.64609241433, -1101.1029255805272, -3935.9879738301124);

And my time:

Instant time = Instant.ofEpochMilli(1683508165764L);

I first convert the Instant to an AbsoluteDate (2023-05-08T01:09:25.764Z) then call this method:

/**
     * Transforms an ECI position to a Topocentric position.
     * @param date     Observation date
     * @param position radians
     * @return GeodeticPoint
     */
    GeodeticPoint eciToGeodetic(AbsoluteDate date, Vector3D position) {
        // Define the Earth ellipsoid (WGS84 in this case)
        OneAxisEllipsoid earth = new OneAxisEllipsoid(
                Constants.WGS84_EARTH_EQUATORIAL_RADIUS,
                Constants.WGS84_EARTH_FLATTENING,
                FramesFactory.getITRF(IERSConventions.IERS_2010, true)
        );
        // Extract Geodetic coordinates
        return earth.transform(position, earth.getBodyFrame(), date);
    }

The returned GeodeticPoint looks like this:
{lat: NaN deg, lon: -168.8482242084 deg, alt: -6,359,220.702133572}

My thinking is that I might not have my “earth” variable setup incorrectly for the incoming data. Any thoughts or pointers would be much appreciated.

sg

Hello @gormanst!

I tried to replicate this issue but I was able to get an answer for the latitude. I can’t see what you may be doing differently.

I would like to point out that the Vector3D position values should be expressed in meters. A general rule of thumb for Orekit is that all values are in S.I. units (meters, radians, kg, sec). The values you provide are therefore several kilometers per axis, well within the earth’s body. Still, the attached code below did not complain.