Generating TLEs from PV Measurements

Hi :slightly_smiling_face: Great work on the release of v12.0, lots of exciting features I’m looking forward to trying out :pray:

I am working on TLE orbit determination, where I have a series of position-velocity measurements and an initial guess for the TLE and would like to generate a new TLE which fits the dataset as closely as possible. I’ve been looking through various packages in the 12.0 release, including org.orekit.propagation.analytical.tle.generation with the LeastSquaresTleGenerationAlgorithm being pretty close to what I want to achieve. But if I understand correctly, this function would accept just a single measurement (as a SpacecraftState) and do the least squares fitting based on a Keplerian approximation?

Perhaps there is a better way to perform the orbit determination using multiple measurements - I am not too experienced in this field so I’d appreciate some pointers in the right direction.

I am also not certain if I should be sampling my dataset to better optimise the fitting - i.e. would it be more beneficial to provide a wider range of measurements across multiple days, or would several measurements across a shorter timespan (say an hour) lead to better results?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi @JakeRandellOC,

There’s a tutorial TLEBasedOrbitDetermination that should help you :wink:

Hard to say, in general rules the longer the arc the better the OD. But since TLEs is based on SGP4 mean elements theory it tends to rapidly diverge from the real world.
You can try both methods and plot the residuals (PV measurements against PVs of the estimated TLEs) to test.
I think (not 100% sure) you will get:

• In both cases the best fit (lowest residuals) around the estimation date
  • Smaller residuals on a 1 hour arc, but if you propagate further the difference between the propagated TLEs and the measurements will grow very fast