ElevationDetector

Hello everyone!

First of all, I wanted to congratulate everyone that has contributed to the development of Orekit, it is an amazing tool! I am new to both Java and Orekit so I am advancing quite slowly, but I love what I have seen so far.

I have a question regarding the event detector. I am using the code below to compute accesses to London from a satellite flying at some orbit. The code is working, but I do not really understand how it really works. I have gone through Orekit’s documentation for the elevation detector but I still do not really understand it. Could someone please explain to me the function of s, detector, increasing, maxcheck, the actions STOP and CONTINUE…

Apologies beforehand if this is a silly question, as I said I am new to all of this and many times my lack of understanding simply derives from my lack of experience in coding.

Thank you very much!

Iliass

indent preformatted text by 4 spaces
EventDetector londonVisibility =
          new ElevationDetector(access.getMaxCheck(), access.getThreshold(), londonFrame).
                  withConstantElevation(access.getMinimumElevation()).
                  withHandler(
                          (s, detector, increasing) -> {
                              System.out.println(
                                      " Visibility on " +
                                              detector.getTopocentricFrame().getName() +
                                              (increasing ? " begins at " : " ends at ") +
                                              s.getDate()
                              );
                              return increasing ? Action.CONTINUE : Action.STOP;
                          }
                  );

Hi @iliass.tanouti, welcome.