Compute contact windows between two satellites

Hello,

Given two satellites as input (two TLEs), I want to be able to determine all possible time windows in which the satellites will be less than some predetermined distance apart with the caveat that the Earth cannot be in-between the satellites (blocking the line of sight).

I am brand new to orekit, so any help is appreciated. :slight_smile:

Here’s a potentially related thread I’ve looked at.

Hi @jcf

In order to know if the Earth is between your two satellites, I recommend you to use the Orekit event detector InterSatDirectViewDetector.

In addition, in order to detect when the distance between the two satellites is less than a user-defined value, you can create a InterSatDistanceDetector like that:

public class InterSatDistanceDetector extends AbstractDetector<InterSatDistanceDetector> {

/** Threshold for the distance between the two satellites. */
    private final double distance;

/** Coordinates provider for the secondary satellite. */
    private final PVCoordinatesProvider secondary;

/**
     * Constructor.
     * @param distance threshold for the distance between the two satellites in meters
     * @param secondary provider for the secondary satellite
     */
    public InterSatDistanceDetector(final double distance, final PVCoordinatesProvider secondary) {
        this(distance, secondary, DEFAULT_MAXCHECK, DEFAULT_THRESHOLD, DEFAULT_MAX_ITER,
             new ContinueOnEvent<>());
    }

/** Private constructor.
     * @param distance threshold for the distance between the two satellites in meters
     * @param secondary provider for the secondary satellite
     * @param maxCheck  maximum checking interval (s)
     * @param threshold convergence threshold (s)
     * @param maxIter   maximum number of iterations in the event time search
     * @param handler   event handler to call at event occurrences
     */
    private InterSatDistanceDetector(final double distance,