Changing attitude on user interaction

Hello everyone!

I am new to Orekit and want to achieve something quite simple. My situation is as follows:
I have a simulation with a satellite orbiting the Earth and its attitude is set to sun-pointing. The user of the simulation has the possibility to set another attitude mode for the satellite by interacting with it over a GUI. What I would like to achieve is that the user can set another attitude mode (e.g. nadir pointing) and the satellite transitions smoothly to the new attitude.
What I tried first is to have two AttitudeProviders running (CelestialBodyPointed for sun-pointing and NadirPointing for nadir pointing) and to use resetActiveProvider of the AttitudeSequence class. However, when I trigger the transition the satellite just does an instantaneous flip which is not the result I am looking for.
My next approach was to use addSwitchingCondition of the AttitudeSequence class. However, none of the already existing EventDetectors matched my condition (i.e. setting a flag from false to true), so I tried to implement a custom EventDetector. But now I am stuck there trying to implement the g method which has to be continuous around its roots because my condition is discrete.
Could you point me in a direction how I could tackle the g function or is there even another more elegant way to achieve what I need?

Cheers,
Yannick

Hi Yannick,

First of all, I suggest you to use the dev branch and then switch to the 10.0 official release once it will be out, because some bugs with AttitudeSequence have been corrected recently.

Your second approach is the correct way to use AttitudeSequence : initializing the two attitude provider in the AttitudeSequence, then adding some switching conditions. With this use, the Attitude Sequence will compute a smooth transition between the two states, over a transition time that you define.