Best Practices for Propagating LEO Satellite for long durations

Hello,

Currently I have the Keplerian Elements for a LEO satellite and would like to compute the position a year or so later under the influence of drag and gravitational perturbations.

I am brand new to this library and field so I would appreciate some pointers about which atmospheric model, integrator, and propagator would be best suited to a problem like this.

Thanks!

Hi @ReeceHumphreys

Welcome to the Orekit forum!

For orbit propagation with a long duration, I recommend you to use the DSST (Draper Semi-analytical Satellite Theory) orbit propagator. DSST is an orbit propagator based on a semi-analytical theory. It combines the accuracy of a numerical method with the characteristic speed of an analytical method.

DSST orbit propagator is represented by the object DSSTPropagator in Orekit.
You can easily initialize it with a numerical integrator and an enumerate telling if your initial orbit is defined with mean or osculating elements. With DSST propagator, you can use a variable step numerical integrator with big minimum and maximum integration steps (i.e. several orbits). It is a big advantage compare to the numerical orbit propagator. Indeed, with a numerical method your integration steps need to be small (i.e. between 1 millisecond and tens of seconds). To initialize the DSST propagator, please find a example below (I assume you already defined your initial SpacecraftState using your Keplerian elements).

final SpacecraftState initialState = // Please define the initial state using the Keplerian elements

// Initialize the DSST propagator
    final double minStep = initialState.getKeplerianPeriod();
    final double maxStep = 100. * minStep;
    final double[][] tol = DSSTPropagator.tolerances(1.0, initialState.getOrbit());
    final AdaptiveStepsizeIntegrator integrator = new DormandPrince853Integrator(minStep, maxStep, tol[0], tol[1]);