AER to ECI transformation

Hello,
I’m new to Orekit and all things space related really. I have been asked to convert some Python code that uses pymap3d to transform AER to ECI, among other things.

The Python code looks simple enough:

eci = pymap3d.aer2eci(aer[0],aer[1],aer[2],lla[0],lla[1],lla[2],datetime_obj,deg=True)

Where:
aer = (47.12870363270617, 0.060779582235353284, 97797.74919860299)
lla = (15.21934054186741, 72.21482879258566, 11421241.506469073)
Answer:
eci = (9272659.053536154, 14445262.180521432, 4704213.693840145)

Is there an Orekit equivalent to the aer2eci pymap3d method?

Thank you.

Hello,

If you want to compute the position vector from a ground location and a time-stamped azimuth+elevation+range measurement, please look here.
The only prerequisite is to create a TopocentricFrame attached to the longitude+latitude+altitude information, represented in Orekit by GeodeticPoint.
Note that the class TrackingCoordinates is only available in version 12.0, but you don’t have to use it to perform these calculations, it’s just a data container.

Best,
Romain

Please see the last comment.

public static void main(String[] args) {
        // Orekit setup data
        File orekitData = new File("/Users/gormanst/orekit-data");
        DataProvidersManager manager = DataContext.getDefault().getDataProvidersManager();
        manager.addProvider(new DirectoryCrawler(orekitData));
        // Define the Earth ellipsoid (WGS84 in this case)
        OneAxisEllipsoid earth = new OneAxisEllipsoid(
                Constants.WGS84_EARTH_EQUATORIAL_RADIUS,
                Constants.WGS84_EARTH_FLATTENING,
                FramesFactory.getITRF(IERSConventions.IERS_2010, true)
        );
        // Define the date for the transformation
        var unix_timestamp = 1695854094;
        Instant instant = Instant.ofEpochSecond((long) unix_timestamp);
        ZonedDateTime utcDateTime = ZonedDateTime.ofInstant(instant, ZoneId.of("UTC"));