Parallel Propagation

Hello everyone,

I’m fairly new to Orekit (and also to Python and Java for that matter :sweat_smile:), I’ve been fiddling with it for like a month now.
I’m trying to implement a way to parallelize the propagation of the same orbit subject to different manoeuvres and observing the results. I’m trying to use PropagatorsParallelizer to do this. However, I need to attach to my propagators a custom distance detector that in the “non parallel case” stops the propagation after a certain event. Reading more on PropagatorsParallelizer I discovered that this would result in all propagators stopping as soon as one of them triggers its detector.
What I need instead is each propagator stopping upon reaching its corresponding event. Alternatively, if that’s not possible, what could also work for me is being able to access each distance detector (without stopping the propagation) and use each propagator’s event at a “global level” (i.e. being able to access the distance evaluated from each propagator after using the parallelizer).
Is this possible? How would the MultiSatStepHandler need to look like in order to do this?

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Emiliano

Hi @Emiliano

I am not sure to understand the use case.

PropagatorsParallelizer is intended to synchronize propagations when one needs to do some computations between all propagators throughout the computation. If one propagator stops, it cannot be used with the other ones, so we stop everything to guarantee the MultiSatStepHandler will always have all states available on the complete step time range.

So if you need to have all propagators continue even after the events, I would suggest to change the event handler so it does not stop after the maneuver.