Osculating Orbital Elements from GNSS Data

Hello,
I’m new to Orekit and even after searching in the forum, I couldn’t find out how to achieve my current goal.
I have position and velocity data from a GNSS receiver of a satellite and want to get the osculating orbital elements from that time stamp. I’ve read, that it could be achieved with DSST Batch LS Estimator. But I couldn’t quite figure out how to use it.
Could somebody give me a hint on how to achieve this? I would be grateful :slight_smile:

By the way, I plan to estimate the mean orbit from the osculating one afterwards. I have already managed that part, it’s just the “GNSS to osculating orbit” part left.

~Tanki

Hello @Tanki,

Welcome to the forum !!

GNSS PVT (Position, Velocity, Time) are by essence osculating so I think you just need to convert the PVT to an orbit. This will probably be a bit crude though.

Suppose you have a PVT from your GNSS receiver TimeStampedPVCoordinates pvt_gnss. Here’s a code to build an orbit from there:

// Convert from GNSS frame to inertial frame (GCRF here)
        Frame itrf = FramesFactory.getITRF(IERSConventions.IERS_2010, false);
        Frame gcrf = FramesFactory.getEME2000();
        Transform transform = itrf.getTransformTo(gcrf, pvt_gnss.getDate());
        TimeStampedPVCoordinates pvt_gcrf = transform.transformPVCoordinates(pvt_gnss);

// Build an orbit
        KeplerianOrbit orbit = new KeplerianOrbit(pvt_gcrf, gcrf, Constants.IERS2010_EARTH_MU);

You’ll notice that I have assumed that your GNSS PVT is given in ITRF frame but that will depend on what you actually have.
Often GPS measurements are given in WGS84 which is close to ITRF.

Hope this helps,
Maxime

2 Likes

Thank you @MaximeJ ,
it works as presented by you.

This actually strengthens the problem I am facing right now.
As I told, I have postion and velocity at a given time from a GNSS receiver.